Back to All Events

⚯ CLITICAL TALK ⚯ Group Show - Rrriot Festival 2018


  • Improper Walls 42 Reindorfgasse Wien, Wien, 1150 Austria (map)
insta horiz.jpg

Exhibition opening: February 14th, 2018
Exhibition duration: February 15th - March 2nd, 2018

_______________________________________
Artists:

Kata Anna Tüz /////////instagram.com/kata_anna_tuez
Bárbara Moura /////////godandthedevil.tumblr.com
Justin Tsui
spreadit Kollektiv /////////instagram.com/spreadit_kollektiv
KINGAS.GRAPES ////////instagram.com/kingas.grapes
Hyeji Nam ////////instagram.com/hyejinam
Monica Georgieva /////////instagram.com/monicageorgieva
Natalia Gurova /////////instagram.com/nataly_gurova
Christiana Perschon ////////christiana.perschon.at
Female Photographers Vienna
/////////instagram.com/female_photographers_vienna
Maria Stadlober ///////// Ma.men
Katharina Ennsthaler /////////bringschuld.tumblr.com
Julia Belova /////////instagram.com/ju_be_ju
Luisa Hübner /////////luisahuebner.com
CANDY
Stefanie Honeder ////////stefaniehoneder.com
Susie Flowers ////////susieflowers.tumblr.com/
Stefanie Wurnitsch ////////instagram.com/stefanie.wurnitsch
Siegrid Cain /////////www.siegridcain.com
Lisa Jura /////////instagram.com/lisaojda
Linda Steiner /////////instagram.com/imadeyouandnowitakeyouback
Lukrezia ////////lukrezia.org
Veronika Kulcsar ////////veronikakulcsar.com
Romina Sylvia Achatz /////////fempoem.tumblr.com

____________________________________________

BIOS & ARTIST STATEMENTS

EVENTS
⚯ 14. FEBRUARY
19:00 Exhibition opening
20:30 Reading by Stefanie Honeder
🎶 DJ Mariah Doesn´t Carey
🎥 Chris Ramos
📷 Sarah Glück

⚯ 1. MARCH
19:30 LIP CONTOURING WORKSHOP
CANDY invites everyone to explore the various possibilities of lip contouring to develop individual ways to get KYLIE’S LIPS! CANDY and her boyfriend VITUS will show you how to prepare your lips, use lipliner and lipstick to contour them and how to finish the look. Learn how to contour your lips and give everything you say the extra glow!

⚯ 2. MARCH ⚯ Clitical Talk. Improper Riot x Rrriot Festival 2018 ⚯
18:30 Female Photographers Vienna
Artist Talk by TBA

19:30 Veronika Kulcsar
Dance performance & artist talk

20:30 Romina Sylvia Ashatz
Live podcast - Fempoem
Guests: TBA

________________________________________
• CLITICAL TALK is meant to portray works of admiration. By women*, for women*. •

Call for artists invited women* artists to submit artworks of admiration for contemporary, living women* working in the fields of art and culture. 

As so many male artists choose women as their subject, and very often the choice is based on admiration, CLITICAL TALK encourages women* artists to express their admiration for other women* in the same field. 

In 1971, Mary Beth Edelson commemorated contemporary, living artists in the work Some Living American Women Artists/Last Supper. And in 1977-78, Sylvia Sleigh painted the A.I.R. Group Portrait. These works reflected female bonding, a collective effort and creativity with positive feminist/political change in mind. Although largely inspired by this, CLITICAL TALK has its own message to portray. 

CLITICAL TALK is all about admiration, friendships and collaborations. Critique on social and political status of the women* isn’t our initial purpose nor intentional rejection. We stay open for diverse opinions, values and beliefs. 

As an art gallery, Improper Walls stands for diversity, equality and freedom of expression. CLITICAL TALK focuses on women* artists, as well as subjects, in order to commemorate women* who we want to be remembered in art history.

All events during the CLITICAL TALK exhibition are open to everyone. 
________________________________________
Improper Walls is curating the exhibition CLITICAL TALK focusing on works of admiration by and for women* in today’s cultural field during Rrriot Festival 2018. It is a three-week long art show, including a program of participatory events, artist talks and performances.

Rrriot Festival focuses on enabling feminist discourse for all individuals during the festival period from March 1st - 7th, 2018; creating and raising awareness of a women’s network throughout Vienna’s broad range of cultural and feminist institutions. 

Improper Walls is proud to take part in the Rrriot Festival 2018 and offers two projects: The CLITICAL TALK group exhibition and the #CliticalTalk challenge. The challenge is aimed at women* working in the current cultural field to send an empowering message to their women* colleagues around the world.

PRESS RELEASE EN

improper_rrriot_fb_header.jpg